Soukoulis wins 2013 APS McGroddy Prize

(From an Ames Lab Press Release)

Costas Soukoulis, an Ames Laboratory Senior Scientist and a Distinguished Professor of Physics at Iowa State University has been selected as a recipient of the 2013 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials from the American Physical Society. In selecting him for the award, the committee cited Soukoulis "for the discovery of metamaterials."

Soukoulis was part of a team of researchers selected for the award that included John B. Pendry (Imperial College) and David R. Smith (Duke University).  The three have been instrumental in creating the revolutionary field of left-handed materials (LHMs), also called negative index materials (NIMs) or metamaterials, extending the realm of electromagnetism, and opening up exciting new applications.

The prize was established in 1997 to recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in the science and application of new materials. This includes the discovery of new classes of materials, the observation of novel phenomena in known materials leading to both fundamentally new applications and scientific insights, and also includes theoretical and experimental work contributing significantly to the understanding of such phenomena.

The prize, awarded annually and endowed by IBM, consists of $10,000 plus a certificate citing the contribution of the recipient and an allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the award is presented. Soukoulis will receive the prize at the APS meeting March 18-22 in Baltimore.

Soukoulis received his B.Sc. from University of Athens in 1974. He obtained his Ph. D. in Physics from the University of Chicago in 1978. From 1978 to 1981 he was at the Physics Dept. at University of Virginia. He spent 3 years (1981-84) at Exxon Research and Engineering Co. and since 1984 has been at Iowa State University (ISU) and Ames Laboratory. He has been an associated member of IESL-FORTH at Heraklion, Crete, since 1983.

His research interest is to develop theoretical understanding of the properties of disordered systems, with emphasis on electron and photon localization, photonic crystals, random lasers, and metamaterials. The theoretical models developed are often quite sophisticated to accurately reflect the complexity of real materials.

Soukoulis received the senior Humboldt Research Award; he shared the Descartes award for research on metamaterials; received an honorary doctorate from Vrije University in Brussels and the first Frances M. Craig endowed chair in Physics at ISU. He is Fellow of the APS, OSA, and AAAS. He has served on several boards and committees for organizations, including NSF, DOE, and European Union and he is a member of the editorial board of PRL. He has been a member or a chairman of various scientific committees responsible for various international conferences.