Condensed Matter

Condensed Matter Physics Seminars are generally held at various times throughout the week. Please check the event listings for complete details.

201520142013201220112010

Quantum phase transitions in a strongly entangled spin-orbital chains

Thursday, 12th Jan 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Room 5
Dr. Natalia Perkins, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, University of Wisconsin-Madison

The structural relationship between negative thermal expansion and quartic anharmonicity of cubic ScF3

Thursday, 19th Jan 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Room 5
Chen Li Materials Science California Institute of Technology

TBA

Thursday, 16th Feb 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Room 5
Vajk, Owen P.

Enhancement of superconductivity by a parallel magnetic field in two-dimensional superconductors

Thursday, 22nd Mar 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Room 5
Ashwani Kumar Monmouth College, Monmouth, IL

Photocurrent And Noise Analysis as Alternative Approaches to Understanding OFET Behavior

Thursday, 29th Mar 2012 @ 2:10 am in PHYSICS Room 5
Ioannis (John) Kymissis Electrical Engineering Columbia University

Qualitative theory of magnetism and superconductivity of iron superconductors

Thursday, 5th Apr 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Room 5
V. P. Antropov Ames Laboratory

Percolation phenomena in schizophrenic metals

Monday, 16th Apr 2012 @ 2:00 pm in ROOM 401 Zanffarao Hall
Wouter Montfrooij University of Missouri-Columbia

Structure and Magnetism in Superconducting Iron Chalcogenides

Thursday, 19th Apr 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Hall Room 5
Vivek Thampy Johns Hopkins Univ., Baltimore, MD

Short-Range Correlations and Frustration in the Stuffed-Pyrochlore Tb2+xTi2-2xNbxO7 and Heavy-Fermion CeCu4Ga

Thursday, 13th Sep 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Hall Room 5
Benjamin G. Ueland MPA-CMMS Los Alamos National Laboratory

75As-NMR/NQR Study of Iron Pnictide superconductor Ba1-xKxFe2As2

Thursday, 4th Oct 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Hall Room 5
Prof. Yoh Kohori Department of Physics, Graduate School of Science, Chiba University

Quantum criticality and superconducting gap evolution in Fe-based superconductors

Thursday, 25th Oct 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Hall Room 5
Kyuil Cho Ames Laboratory Iowa State University

Visualization of nucleation and growth of molecular networks by LEEM and microLEED: BDA/Cu(001)

Friday, 26th Oct 2012 @ 2:00 pm in Room 19 PHYSICS HALL
Prof. Bene Poelsema University of Twente

The vortex lattice viewed by very low temperature scanning tunneling microscopy and spectroscopy

Friday, 16th Nov 2012 @ 2:00 pm in Room 19 PHYSICS HALL
Hermann J. Suderow Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

Spins in diamonds: control of quantum many-body dynamics

Thursday, 29th Nov 2012 @ 4:10 pm in PHYSICS Hall Room 5
Viatcheslav Dobrovitski Ames Lab