Colloquium

Colloquia in Department of Physics and Astronomy are generally held on Monday afternoon from 4:10-5:30 P.M. in Room 3, Physics Hall. For every colloquium, there is a social time with coffee and cookies which starts at 3:30 P.M. in Room 18, Physics Hall. The Physics Department can be found using this map. Special Colloquia may be held at different times, so please check the event listings for complete details.

201520142013201220112010

Superconductivity, Glue, and the Pseudogap

Monday, 3rd Feb 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Albert Migliori (LANL)

Exploring the Mysteries of the Quark-Gluon Plasma

Monday, 10th Mar 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
John C. Hill Iowa State University

Single Molecule Imaging of the Dynamic Organization of Cellular Membranes

Monday, 24th Mar 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Ken Ritchie Purdue

Discoveries that Changed the World: 1932-1942

Tuesday, 25th Mar 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
G. H. Lander Grenoble, France

Skyrmions and Spirals in Two-dimensional Chiral Magnets

Monday, 31st Mar 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Mohit Randeria Ohio State University

From the Lab to the Heavens - New Optical Constants of Cosmic Silicates and How to Use Them

Monday, 14th Apr 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Angela Speck University of Missouri

It's All About Energy! The Impact of First Principles Theories and Computation

Monday, 21st Apr 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Giulia Galli University of Chicago

Carbon Negative Technologies

Monday, 28th Apr 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Robert C. Brown Bioeconomy Institute, Iowa State University

Searching for Clues to the Solar System's Past in Nearby Young Exosystems: Spitzer Evidence for Planet Forming Collisions and Late Heavy Bombardments

Monday, 25th Aug 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Dr. Carey M. Lisse Principal Staff Scientist Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Prediction of Superconductors from First Principles

Monday, 8th Sep 2014 @ 4:10 pm in TBD
Dr. Aleksey Kolmogorov Binghamton University - SUNY

Special Colloquium to Honor Vladimir Kogan's 80th Birthday (4 speakers)

Monday, 15th Sep 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
John Kirtley Stanford Lev Bulaevskii Los Alamos James Thompson Oak Ridge David Farrell Case Western

Electromagnetic Fields in Heavy-ion Collisions: Origin, Properties and Applications

Monday, 22nd Sep 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Kirill Tuchin Iowa State University

Hunting for Exotic Massive Particles with the ATLAS Detector at the Large Hadron Collider

Monday, 13th Oct 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Chunhui Chen Iowa State University

The Local Cosmology from Isolated Dwarfs (LCID) Project

Monday, 20th Oct 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Evan Skillman University of Minnesota

TBA

Monday, 10th Nov 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Gavin King University of Missouri

TBA

Monday, 17th Nov 2014 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Nandini Trivedi The Ohio State University