Colloquium

Colloquia in Department of Physics and Astronomy are generally held on Monday afternoon from 4:10-5:30 P.M. in Room 3, Physics Hall. For every colloquium, there is a social time with coffee and cookies which starts at 3:30 P.M. in Room 18, Physics Hall. The Physics Department can be found using this map. Special Colloquia may be held at different times, so please check the event listings for complete details.

201520142013201220112010

"Magnetic and Pairing Instability in Organic Superconductors"

Monday, 14th Jan 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Hai-Qing Lin (Beijing Computational Science Research Center)

"Emergent Phases of Correlated Electrons in Materials with Spin-orbit Coupling and Magnetic Frustration"

Thursday, 17th Jan 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Natalia Perkins (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

"An Ultracold Atom Perspective on Many-body Quantum Dynamics"

Thursday, 24th Jan 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
David Pekker (California Institute of Technology)

"Molecular Basis of Temperature Detection by Specialized Sensory Receptors"

Monday, 28th Jan 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Hoover 1213
Julio Cordero-Morales (Lilly Research Labs - University of California - San Francisco}

Superconductivity from Repulsive Interactions

Monday, 28th Jan 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Andrey Chubukov (University of Wisconsin)

Structural Basis of Transciptional Pausing in Bacteria

Wednesday, 30th Jan 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Hoover 1213
Albert Weixlbaumer (The Rockefeller University)

'Polymerase Switching during Translesion DNA Synthesis and Quantitative Protein Labeling for Single-molecule Imaging"

Thursday, 31st Jan 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Physics 0005
Xinghua Shi (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

"The Discovery of the First Topological Kondo Insulator: A Tale of SmB6"

Thursday, 31st Jan 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Maxim Dzero (Kent State University)

"Allostery in a Radical Enzyme"

Monday, 4th Feb 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Hoover 1213
Nozomi Ando (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

"A New Broken Symmetry: Hidden (Hastatic) Order in URu2Si2"

Monday, 4th Feb 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Rebecca Flint (MIT)

"Single-molecule Studies of Replicative DNA Helicases"

Thursday, 7th Feb 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Hoover 1213
Hasan Yardimci (Harvard Medical School)

"Visualizing Protein Conformation and Dynamics Using Single Molecule FRET Spectroscopy"

Monday, 11th Feb 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Physics 0005
Hoi Sung Chung (National Institutes of Health)

"Shining Light on the Molecular Mechanism of Cytoskeleton-based Molecular Motors"

Wednesday, 13th Feb 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Hoover 1213
Weihong Qiu (Harvard Medical School)

"An Ultrafast Tale of Two Polyenes"

Thursday, 14th Feb 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Physics 0005
Tessa Calhoun (Princeton University)

"Detecting Unique Genomic Variations and Rare Phenotypic Switching in Single Cells"

Monday, 18th Feb 2013 @ 3:10 pm in Hoover 1213
Chenghang (Chuck) Zong (Harvard University)

"The Outcome of the LHC Search for the Higgs Boson"

Monday, 25th Feb 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Tom LeCompte (Argonne National Lab)

"Illuminating the Cosmic Frontier with Gamma Rays"

Monday, 4th Mar 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Amanda Weinstein (Iowa State University)

"Physics of Complex Materials"

Monday, 11th Mar 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Evgenii Levin (Ames Lab/US DOE/ISU)

"Protein Structure-Function and its Application to the Evolution of Biological Hydrogen Production"

Monday, 25th Mar 2013 @ 2:10 pm in Physics 18/19
Dr. Buz Barstow (Harvard Medical School)

"A Research-validated Approach to Transforming Upper-division Physics Courses"

Monday, 25th Mar 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Steven Pollock (University of Colorado, Boulder)

"Metamaterials"

Monday, 1st Apr 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Thomas Koschny (Ames Laboratory)

"Physics at the Dawn of the LHC Era: Implications of Searches for New Physics at the LHC"

Monday, 8th Apr 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Jay Wacker (SLAC Nat'l Labs/Stanford University)

"The Glue That Binds Us All -- Probing Gluonic Matter with the World's First Electron-Ion Collider"

Monday, 15th Apr 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Thomas Ullrich (Brookhaven National Lab)

"Parity Violation and Anomaly-induced Transport in Super-dense Matter"

Monday, 22nd Apr 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Dmitri Kharzeev (Stony Brook University/Brookhaven National Lab)

"Quantum Femtosecond Magnetism"

Monday, 29th Apr 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0005
Dr. Jigang Wang (Iowa State University)

The "Standard" Model of Cosmology...and Open Questions

Monday, 26th Aug 2013 @ 4:10 am in Physics 0003
Dr. Bharat Ratra (Kansas State University)

Characterizing a New Kind of Planet: Low-Mass Low-Density Exoplanets

Monday, 9th Sep 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Jonathan Fortney (Univ. of California, Santa Cruz)

Tuning the Mechanics of Cell Adhesion

Monday, 23rd Sep 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Sanjeevi Sivasankar (Iowa State University)

Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics: A Growing Frontier of "Pure and Applied" Theoretical Physics

Monday, 7th Oct 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Royce Zia (Virginia Tech & Iowa State University)

Materials, Energy and Life: The State of the Art of High Magnetic Field Research

Monday, 14th Oct 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Greg Boebinger (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory)

The Physics and Cosmology of TeV Blazars

Monday, 21st Oct 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Philip Chang (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

Temporal Dynamics within Networks of Neurons

Monday, 28th Oct 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Rhonda Dzakpasu (Georgetown Univ)

Simultaneous Detection of Organics Leading to Spatial and Temporal Multidimensional Chemical Imaging (MDCI)

Tuesday, 29th Oct 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Molecular Biology Building 1414
Prof. Carol Hirschmugl University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Visualizing Viruses Inside and Outside the Host Cells

Monday, 4th Nov 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Wah Chiu (Baylor College of Medicine)

Dilatometry and High-Pressure Experiments: Past, Present, and Future

Monday, 11th Nov 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
James S. Schilling Washington University and George Schmiedeshoff Occidental College

Terahertz Dynamics and Control in Complex Materials

Monday, 2nd Dec 2013 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 0003
Richard Averitt (Boston University)

High Energy Physics as Part of a Science Community

Tuesday, 10th Dec 2013 @ 3:00 pm in Physics 18/19
Rik Yoshida (Argonne National Lab)