Colloquium

Colloquia in Department of Physics and Astronomy are generally held on Monday afternoon from 4:10-5:30 P.M. in Room 3, Physics Hall. For every colloquium, there is a social time with coffee and cookies which starts at 3:30 P.M. in Room 18, Physics Hall. The Physics Department can be found using this map. Special Colloquia may be held at different times, so please check the event listings for complete details.

201520142013201220112010

B-physics to Supercolliders: The Search for New Physics

Monday, 24th Jan 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
David Atwood (Iowa State University)

Ultrafast Nonlinear Physics in Graphene: Explore the Limit of Phase Space Filling at 10^(-14) Second

Monday, 31st Jan 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Jigang Wang (Iowa State University)

Squishy Physics at the Bio-Nano Interface

Monday, 7th Feb 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Sanjeevi Sivasankar (Iowa State University)

The CASSINI Huygens Spacecraft reveals Titan's surface (special colloquium)

Friday, 11th Feb 2011 @ 4:00 pm in Physics, Room 5
Peter Smith (Arizona's Lunar and Planetary Laboratory)

The Thick and Thin of Solar Cells

Monday, 14th Feb 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Eric Schiff (Syracuse University)

Predictors of College Success

Monday, 21st Feb 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Sara Clough

TBA

Monday, 28th Feb 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Abhay Deshpande (Stony Brook)

Computers in Science Education; a new way to teach Science?

Monday, 21st Mar 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Morten Hjorth-Jensen (University of Oslo, Norway)

The 17 position knob: Tuning interactions with rare earths

Monday, 28th Mar 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Paul C. Canfield (Iowa State University)

Unconventional sign-changing s-wave pairing symmetry in Fe-based superconductors

Monday, 4th Apr 2011 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Igor Mazin (Naval Research Laboratory)