Colloquium

Colloquia in Department of Physics and Astronomy are generally held on Monday afternoon from 4:10-5:30 P.M. in Room 3, Physics Hall. For every colloquium, there is a social time with coffee and cookies which starts at 3:30 P.M. in Room 18, Physics Hall. The Physics Department can be found using this map. Special Colloquia may be held at different times, so please check the event listings for complete details.

201520142013201220112010

Unraveling the mechanism by which a protein promotes the growth of nano-magnetic single crystals

Monday, 11th Jan 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
David Vaknin (Ames Laboratory and Iowa State University)

Teaching Physics

Monday, 25th Jan 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
John Hauptman (Iowa State University)

Excitons in Carbon Nanotubes with Broken Time-Reversal Symmetry

Monday, 1st Feb 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Junichiro Kono (Rice University)

Nanospring behavior of proteins, nucleic acids and polysaccharides: Single-molecule atomic-force spectroscopy studies

Monday, 8th Feb 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Piotr E. Marszalek (Duke University)

The Muon Collider at Fermilab

Monday, 15th Feb 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Mary Anne Cummings (Muons, Inc. Fermilab)

Quantum Size Effects in Thin Films - Stability, Work Function, Superconductivity, and Pseudogap Structure

Monday, 22nd Feb 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Tai C. Chiang (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

How Galaxies Grow: A Tale of Growth Spurts, Early Achievers, and Late Bloomers

Monday, 1st Mar 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Gregory Rudnick (University of Kansas)

Mechanics of Proteins and RNA

Monday, 8th Mar 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Robert Jernigan (Iowa State University)

Nu Frontiers in Particle Physics (co-sponsored by ISU ADVANCE)

Monday, 22nd Mar 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Bonnie Fleming (Yale University)

The Science of Optics; The History of Art

Monday, 5th Apr 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Charles M. Falco (University of Arizona, Tucson)

Quark Gluon Plasma: From Particles to Fields?

Monday, 12th Apr 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Barbara Jacak (Stony Brook University)

Chandrasekhar

Monday, 19th Apr 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Dimitri Mihalas (Los Alamos)

Organic Spintronics

Monday, 26th Apr 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Z. Valy Vardeny (University of Utah)

Probing Nearby Planetary Systems via Debris Disk Imaging

Monday, 13th Sep 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Karl Stapelfeldt (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech & NASA)

The Search for Complex Order Parameter Symmetry in Unconventional Superconductors

Monday, 20th Sep 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Dale J Van Harlingen (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Ultrafast Dynamics in Complex Materials

Monday, 27th Sep 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Toni Taylor (Los Alamos National Laboratory)

Shedding infrared light on high-Tc superconductivity

Monday, 4th Oct 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Dimitri N. Basov (University of California San Diego)

The physics of graphen

Monday, 11th Oct 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Joerg Schmalian (Iowa State University)

Physics with Leptons at ATLAS

Monday, 18th Oct 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Soeren Prell (Iowa State University)

Transport between superconductors coupled to quantum Hall edge modes

Monday, 25th Oct 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
James N. Eckstein (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Design of Polymer Nanocomposites Materials: General strategies, Molecular Dynamics and video games.

Monday, 8th Nov 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics Room 5
Alex Travesset (Iowa State University)

Perfecting Superconducting Niobium for Teravolt and Megawatt Linear Accelerators

Monday, 15th Nov 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Lance Cooley (Superconducting RF Materials Group Leader Technical Division, Fermilab)

Order of Magnitude Biology

Monday, 29th Nov 2010 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 5
Rob Phillips (California Institute of Technology)