Colloquium

Colloquia in Department of Physics and Astronomy are generally held on Monday afternoon from 4:10-5:30 P.M. in Room 3, Physics Hall. For every colloquium, there is a social time with coffee and cookies which starts at 3:30 P.M. in Room 18, Physics Hall. The Physics Department can be found using this map. Special Colloquia may be held at different times, so please check the event listings for complete details.

201520142013201220112010

Discrete Scale Invariance in Ultracold Atoms

Monday, 6th Apr 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
Eric Braaten (The Ohio State University)

New detectors and colliders in high energy physics

Monday, 31st Aug 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
John Hauptman (Department of Physics & Astronomy, Iowa State University)

Frustrated Pairs: Magnon BEC in Geometrically Frustrated Spin Dimer Compounds

Monday, 14th Sep 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
Ian R. Fisher (Stanford University)

Color Glass Condensate and Glasma

Monday, 21st Sep 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
Larry McLerran (Brookhaven National Laboratory)

Discoveries From the First 2 years of VERITAS Observations

Monday, 28th Sep 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
Frank Krennrich (Iowa State University)

Magnetic Properties of New Low Dimensional Spin Frustrated Systems

Monday, 5th Oct 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
Yuji Furukawa (Iowa State University)

Coherence in high energy nuclear physics

Monday, 12th Oct 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 3
Kirill Tuchin (Iowa State University)

ATLAS on top

Monday, 19th Oct 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
Jim Cochran (Iowa State University)

The Use of Coherent X-ray beams in studying the Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter

Monday, 26th Oct 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
Sunil K. Sinha (University of California, San Diego)

High temperature superconductivity: from complexity to simplicity

Monday, 2nd Nov 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, Room 3
Sudip Chakravarty (UCLA)

The Bottom(onium) Line

Monday, 9th Nov 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Soeren Prell (Department of Physics & Astronomy, Iowa State University)

Ground-Based TeV Gamma-Ray Astronomy: New Insights into Blazar Astrophysics

Tuesday, 10th Nov 2009 @ 2:10 pm in Physics, room 18/19
Robert Marcus Wagner (Max-Planck-Institute for Physics, Germany)

Exploring the Extreme Universe with Very High Energy Gamma Rays

Wednesday, 11th Nov 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Amanda Weinstein (University of California, Los Angeles)

Gamma-Ray Astrophysics at the Energy Threshold of Cherenkov Telescopes

Monday, 16th Nov 2009 @ 2:10 am in Physics, room 18/19
Nepomuk Otte (University of California, Santa Cruz)

Investigating Scientific Misconduct and the Hendrik Schoen Affair: A Unique Life Experience

Monday, 16th Nov 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 3
Malcolm Beasley Stanford University

Unraveling the Extragalactic Gamma-ray Sky in the Era of Fermi and VERITAS

Wednesday, 18th Nov 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 5
Luis Reyes (University of Chicago/Kavli Institute of Cosmological Physics)

Extragalactic Astrophysics with VERITAS

Thursday, 19th Nov 2009 @ 10:10 am in Physics, room 3
Jeremy Perkins (Harvard-Smithsonian)

Studying Very-high-energy Cosmic Particle Accelerators with Ground-based Cherenkov Telescopes

Monday, 30th Nov 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics, room 3
Matthias Beilicke (Washington University)

The Physics of Super-Heroes

Monday, 7th Dec 2009 @ 4:10 pm in Physics 3
James Kakalios University of Minnesota